Back to top

The Landmarks design review process

The Landmarks design review process

An overview of the approval process for projects involving Landmarks in Boston.

The Boston Landmarks Commission preserves Landmarked historic properties in the City. We do this by reviewing construction plans that involve changing these properties. Changes that follow a Landmark's guidelines can be approved more quickly, but commissioners and staff will work with applicants to refine any proposed changes. We also review plans for properties under review or awaiting a decision on a landmark designation. The commission must approve all changes before you can start work on your project.

WORK THAT NEEDS APPROVAL

The Commission reviews any exterior work that is visible from a public way. This includes changes to design, materials, or appearance. Interior changes usually don't need approval unless the inside of the property is Landmarked.  

THE REVIEW PROCESS

All Boston Landmarks have study reports that include specific design standards and guidelines. You can find the study report for any designated Boston landmark on our publications page. If you are interested in finding out about guidelines for a pending Landmark (property awaiting a decision on designation) please contact us. You can call 617-635-3850, or email blc@cityofboston.gov, and we’ll send you the relevant report if available.

Once your project meets the guidelines and is approved by the Commission, you will get a Certificate of Design Approval. We will let you know if your project is exempt from review. After we get your application, we'll decide if you need a certificate or not. You may have to attend one or more public hearings, depending on your project's scope.

We hold design review hearings on the fourth Tuesday of every month. These are public and residents can attend the hearings and give their opinions. If you plan to submit an application, you must make sure a complete application is submitted as early as possible in the process. Complete applications, as determined by staff and received fifteen business days before the hearing date, will be added to an agenda. Schedule of 2017 BLC hearing dates. The design review process and application form are the same for the historic district commissions, but the districts' hearing schedules are different - 2017 schedule for all commissions.  

Ready to get started? Find out how to file an application for a design review.

Still have questions? Contact:
Landmarks Commission
617-635-3850
1 City Hall Square
Room 709
Boston, MA 02201
United States
Public hearings

The Boston Landmarks Commission will hold a hearing on Tuesday, November 22, at 6 p.m. in Room 900 at Boston City Hall. The agenda is posted below.

BLC Agenda November 22, 2016

Archive

Upcoming hearing dates

Complete Application

HEARING DATE

Monday, November 21, 2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Friday, December 30, 2016

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Monday, February 6

Tuesday, February 28

Tuesday, March 6

Tuesday, March 28

Monday, April 3

Tuesday, April 25

Tuesday, May 2

Tuesday, May 23

Tuesday, June 6

Tuesday, June 27

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 25

Tuesday, August 1

Tuesday, August 22

Tuesday, September 5

Tuesday, September 26

Monday, October 2

Tuesday, October 24

Friday, November 3

Tuesday, November 28

Monday, November 20

Tuesday, December 12

Friday, December 29, 2017

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Landmarks Commission agendas

Landmarks Commission agendas