Back to top

Landmarks design review process

Landmarks design review process

An overview of the approval process for projects involving Landmarks in Boston.

The Boston Landmarks Commission preserves Landmarked historic properties in the City. We do this by reviewing construction plans that involve changing designated properties. The nine Historic District Commissions follow the same design review process. Changes that follow a Landmark's guidelines can be approved more quickly, but commissioners and staff will work with applicants to refine any proposed changes. The BLC also reviews proposed changes for properties under review or awaiting a decision on a landmark designation. The commission must approve all changes before you can start work on your project.

WORK THAT NEEDS APPROVAL

The Commission reviews proposed changes to design, materials, or appearance of the exterior. Interior changes usually don't need approval unless the inside of the property is Landmarked. Check this list for interior designations.

Still have questions? Contact:
Landmarks Commission
1 City Hall Square
Room 709
Boston, MA 02201
United States
Public hearings

The next Boston Landmarks Commission public hearing is scheduled for Tuesday, March 14, 2017.

Check our Facebook or Twitter accounts for last-minute changes such as room location or hearing cancelation.

Learn about the review process

THE REVIEW PROCESS

All design review starts with a complete application. Please refer to the guidelines for the Landmarked property. All Boston Landmarks and the Historic Districts Study Reports include specific design standards. You can find the Study Report for any designated Boston Landmark on our publications page.  Your project has a better chance of Commission approval if it follows the guidelines.

If you are interested in finding out about guidelines for a pending Landmark (property awaiting a decision on designation), please contact us. You can call 617-635-3850, or email blc@cityofboston.gov, and we’ll send you the relevant report if available.

After we get your complete application, staff will decide if your project is exempt from review. If the project must be approved by the Commission, our staff will help coordinate your presentation. You may have to attend one or more public hearings, depending on your project's scope. Once your project meets the guidelines and is approved by the Commission, you will get a Certificate of Design Approval.

Design review hearings

Design review hearings are held once per month. Please see the Historic Districts for their monthly hearing schedules. BLC's design review hearings are on the fourth Tuesday of every month. All hearings are public, anyone can attend the hearings and give their opinion. If you plan to submit an application, you must make sure a complete application is submitted as early as possible in the process.

Complete applications, as determined by staff and received fifteen business days before the hearing date, will be added to an agenda. The design review process and application form are the same for the historic district commissions, but the districts' hearing schedules are different. BLC hearings are also held on the second Tuesday of each month to address non-design review agenda items such as Article 85 hearings.

Ready to get started? Find out how to file an application for a design review.

Related information:

Upcoming Design Review hearing dates

(Non-design review hearings are on second Tuesdays each month)

Complete Application

HEARING DATE

Monday, November 21, 2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Friday, December 30, 2016

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Monday, February 6

Tuesday, February 28

Tuesday, March 7

Tuesday, March 28

Monday, April 3

Tuesday, April 25

Tuesday, May 2

Tuesday, May 23

Tuesday, June 6

Tuesday, June 27

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 25

Tuesday, August 1

Tuesday, August 22

Tuesday, September 5

Tuesday, September 26

Monday, October 2

Tuesday, October 24

Friday, November 3

Tuesday, November 28

Monday, November 20

Tuesday, December 12

Friday, December 29, 2017

Tuesday, January 23, 2018