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What is unemployment compensation? 
 
Unemployment compensation is temporary income for eligible workers who become 
unemployed through no fault of their own and who are looking for new jobs. The money for 
unemployment insurance benefits comes from revenue paid by employers. No deductions are 
made from employee’s pay. 
 
Who is entitled to collect unemployment compensation? 
 
Anyone who has earned sufficient wages during the designated base period, who is available 
and seeking full time employment, and who is unemployed through no fault of their own. 
 
When am I eligible to file a claim for unemployment compensation? 
 
You should file your claim when you are totally or partially unemployed and receiving no 
earnings.  You are not allowed to activate a claim while employed in anticipation of total or 
partial unemployment. 
 
What should I have available at the time of filing my claim for unemployment 
compensation? 
 
In Massachusetts you can activate a claim for unemployment compensation in one of two ways. 
You can apply by phone or use the UI online web site.  You should know or have with you your 
social security number.  You should know or have with you the names and addresses of your 
most recent employers (within the last 15 months).  You should have wage information from 
your recent employment.  You should know the reason why you are no longer working.  If you 
have dependent children you should have the names, dates of birth, and social security 
numbers of said dependents. 
 
Will there be a waiting period before receiving unemployment benefits?  
 
Under the regular program, the first week of your claim for which you are eligible to collect 
benefits is your “waiting period.”  Massachusetts law requires this waiting period and you will not 
be paid benefits for that week. 
 
You serve only one waiting period during your benefit year, even if you close and reopen your 
claim several times during your benefit year. 
 
With the covid-19 pandemic, the waiting period is currently waived, so you will receive benefits 
for the first week. 
 

How long will it take to receive my unemployment benefits? 



If eligible, you will receive the first UI benefit payment in approximately three to four weeks after 
applying for benefits. 

How long is my claim for benefits valid? 
 
A claim is valid for one year from the Sunday prior to the date you filed your claim for 
unemployment compensation. 
 
 
If eligible how much am I entitled to receive in unemployment benefits? 
 
Your entitlement both the weekly benefit amount and the total potential of your claim for the life 
of the claim is directly related to your wages earned in the “base period” (the most recent four 
completed calendar quarters prior to filing your claim for unemployment. 
 
Your weekly unemployment benefit amount is 50% of your average weekly wage up to the 
maximum allowed under the statute at the time of filing your claim (current maximum claim in 
Massachusetts is $823 per week (that maximum changes by statute the first Sunday of October 
annually). 
 
Under the CARES Act, an additional $600 was paid to claimants.  However, this additional 
benefit expired the week ending July 25, 2020. 
 
 
If eligible how many weeks of unemployment compensation am I entitled to receive? 
 
Currently, in Massachusetts the maximum number of weeks allowed under the regular program 
is 26 weeks.  However, the federal program provides an additional 13 weeks, and another 13 
weeks is added due to the Extended Benefits provision. 
 
Is there any compensation available beyond my own weekly benefit amount? 
 
Yes, in Massachusetts you may receive an additional $25 for each qualifying dependent child. 
A spouse is not recognized as a dependent.  Dependent children are children under eighteen 
years of age, or under 24 years of but enrolled in and attending school or children physically or 
mentally handicapped for which you are providing support. 
 
If I elect to file for and receive social security benefits, will that have any effect on my 
eligibility for unemployment compensation? 
 
Yes.  Again it establishes an assumption that you have retired or at best are limiting your 
availability for work.  This again is an assumed restriction on your availability and must be 
rebutted to meet the eligibility requirements. 
 
Are unemployment benefits taxable? 
 



Yes.  You can voluntarily withhold amounts to satisfy state and federal tax obligations or can 
direct the State Agency to make those deductions directly against your weekly unemployment 
benefit check. 
 
 
 
 
 
Are there any other benefits that I may be eligible to receive if entitled to receive 
unemployment compensation? 
 
Yes, you may also be entitled to health benefits.  If you are a Massachusetts resident and meet 
the qualifications for unemployment compensation and meet income and family criteria you will 
be entitled to elect to receive health benefits under a direct health insurance coverage plan or 
an indirect health insurance coverage plan. 
 
What type of work search requirements must I meet and what type of work would I be 
expected to accept? 
 
You are expected to engage in a minimum of three work search activities on three different days 
during the week.  Keep a detailed written log of your work search activities. Provide your work 
search information to DUA upon request.  You are not expected to take a job deemed to be 
unsuitable.  Suitable work takes into consideration your experience, skills, pay, commute etc. 
 
If I can only find part time work, will wages from part time employment affect my weekly 
unemployment benefits? 
 
Yes. You may supplement your UI benefits with part-time work if you continue to conduct and 
active work search and you report your earnings to DUA.  Any earnings reported will be 
considered and if applicable an offset will be made against your weekly unemployment check. 
Under the Massachusetts “low earnings” formula you are required to earn up to 1/3 of your 
weekly unemployment benefit amount without any offset applied.  Any earnings beyond the 1/3 
of your weekly unemployment benefit amount will be offset dollar for dollar against your weekly 
unemployment check. 
 
 

 
Department of Unemployment Assistance – Contact Information 

 
By Phone - 

Call Center​:   (877) 626-6800 
Open 8:30 am – 4:30 pm,  Monday–Friday,  
8 am –12 pm Saturday.  
Multilingual call agents are available. 

 



Payment Status Line ​(Automated System is operational*):  (617) 626-6563 

To check your claim or benefit payment status 
 *please do not transfer to an agent while in the system-this is not staffed at this time 

 
Online - 

To access UI Online from a computer:  
 ​https://www.mass.gov/unemployment-insurance-ui-online  

 


