APPLYING FOR A STANDARD MASSACHUSETTS DRIVER'S LICENSE

Starting July 2023 a new state law allows people to get a driver's license regardless of immigration status

PREPARE AND BRING THESE DOCUMENTS WITH YOU: 1. **ONE** of these, unexpired Passport Consular identification document 2. **ONE** of these, unexpired: • National identification document from country of nationality • Birth certificate (original or "certified" copy, which is an official copy with a seal or stamp from the issuing government) • Driver's license (can be from US or from another country) Marriage certificate or divorce decree (issued in the US only) 3. ONE document to show you live in Massachusetts. It must have your name and your Massachusetts address on it. Some examples of acceptable documents: • A medical or hospital bill (not older than 60 days) • A current lease agreement • A pay stub (not older than 60 days) A mortgage statement • A school document: official transcript or a tuition bill • A utility bill (gas, electric, from the current year, or proof of enrollment (not older water) than 60 days) A bank statement or credit • Insurance document from the current year: renter's, card statement (not older than homeowners or auto insurance 60 days) • A letter from a government agency (can be state, • A telephone bill (not older than federal or local) 60 days) 4. ONE of these: • If you have ever had a legal Social Security Number issued to you, you must provide the number. • If you have never had a Social Security Number, you can: Sign a document swearing that you do not have one during your in-person application date, or ahead of time before a notary: https://www.mass.gov/doc/affidavit-of-no-ssnenglish/download o Obtain a Social Security "denial letter" by going in person to a Social Security Administration office. Bring the letter with you to apply for a license, it cannot be more than 60 days older than the day you apply. 5. "Certified" translations of any documents that are not in English. Translations do not need to be notarized but do need to be certified by someone such as a bilingual teacher, a





language services provider, a community organization, or a bilingual notary: https://www.mass.gov/doc/sample-translation-certification-format/download



THE PROCESS OF APPLYING

A standard (not "REAL ID") Massachusetts license is called a "Passenger (Class D)" license for a vehicle and "Class M" for a motorcycle. It costs \$115.

TRANSFER LICENSES: If you have a license from another U.S. state that is unexpired or has been expired for less than 1 year, you can "transfer" your license to a Massachusetts standard license without retaking a written or road test. Start your application online and make an appointment to submit your documents in-person at an RMV location at: https://www.mass.gov/myrmv. You can make an appointment now for July 1st onward. You can also transfer a license from Mexico, Canada, S. Korea, Germany, France and Taiwan.

NEW LICENSES: If you are not transferring a license, you will have to get a learner's permit first. Start your application online and make an appointment to submit your documents in-person at an RMV location at: https://www.mass.gov/myrmv. You can make an appointment for July 1st onward.

On the day of your appointment, take your documents with you. You will have to pass an eye exam. You can take the written test during your appointment, or later online from home. The exam covers questions about traffic rules. Once you pass the written test, you will get a learner's permit, which will allow you to practice driving. This is not yet your license.

You will then make an appointment online to take your road test. A licensed driver must accompany you in their vehicle to take the road test. If you pass your road test, you will get your license!

WHAT YOU SHOULD PREPARE

- Decide what documents you plan to present from the list on the other page.
- Request any documents you need but don't have.
- Renew any documents that are expired.
- Get certified translations of documents that are not in English.
- Get or print out a residency document, checking to make sure it's not older than 60 days from your appointment day at the RMV.
- Pay any outstanding parking/traffic tickets, fines or fees.
- Once you have your documents ready, make an appointment online for July 1 onward to submit your application in person at an RMV service center: https://www.mass.gov/myrmv
- Study for your written test. The drivers manual is available in multiple languages https://www.mass.gov/lists/drivers-manuals#massachusetts-driver's-manual

Updated June 2023

Questions? Call the RMV hotline: 857-368-9362 or visit https://mass.gov/wfma Follow: