Back to top

How to schedule a car seat check

How to schedule a car seat check

Motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death in the United States for children 2-12 years of age. Properly installed child safety seats can prevent serious injuries and death, yet most child safety seats are improperly installed. Boston EMS can help.


Choose the right seat

Stage one: Birth – 1 year

Used from birth to at least 1 year of age or 20 pounds.

  • Rear-facing
  • Placed in the back seat
Stage two: 1 year – 3 years old

Used until your child has reached the upper limit of the height and weight requirements of this seat.

  • Rear-facing
  • Placed in the back seat
 Stage three: 4 years – 7 years old

  Used with proper harness until your child has reached the upper limit of the height and weight requirements of this seat

  • Front-facing   
  • Placed in back seat
Stage Four: 8 years old and up

Massachusetts requires that all children under 8 years old OR 57 inches (4 foot, 9 inches) tall ride in a federally approved booster seat with the seat belt properly fastened.

  • All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat

Properly Install Seat

Choose the proper seat based on the guidelines in Step 1. Ensure that your child safety seat is properly installed. Having a certified safety seat technician install your seat is one of the best ways to ensure that it is done properly.


Call Boston EMS

Boston EMS offers FREE child safety seat installations and checks.

Boston EMS will ensure you have selected the appropriate size seat for your child and properly install it as well as make sure your child is buckled into the seat correctly and show you how to do it.

Please call us at 617-343-6891 to make your child safety seat appointment.

Need to Know:

The Massachusetts Child Passenger Safety law was amended in July of 2008 to include booster seat requirements. The law says that:

  • Children must be in a federally approved child passenger restraint that is properly fastened and secured until they are 8 years old OR over 57” (4’9”) tall.
  • Children ages 8-13 must wear a properly fastened safety belt.
  • A police officer can stop your vehicle if a child age 13 or under is not properly restrained.
Emergency Medical Services
785 Albany Street
Boston, MA 02118
United States
Did you know?

Almost 90 percent of car seats are not installed correctly.