COVID-19 information
/
For the latest updates, please visit our coronavirus (COVID-19) website:
Last updated:

Health Resource Center

The Health Resource Center (HRC) is a collaboration between the Boston Public Health Commission and Boston Public Schools. It brings comprehensive sexual health education, in-school health counseling, referrals, and community health care resources to high school students.  

The HRC team delivers substance use/misuse workshops using the Life Skills Curriculum. It focuses on preventing smoking and drug use, and provides students with skills to make informed decisions.

Health educators also discuss youth depression and suicide, stress, and anger management. They use the Break-free From Depression curriculum developed by Children's Hospital. Most recently the HRC team has developed and implemented a public health equity curriculum, aiming to inform students about health inequities in our communities, and what can be done to address these issues.

About Us

HRC health educators deliver the evidence-based Rights, Respect, Responsibility (3R’s) Sexual Health Curriculum to youth.

They cover topics such as:

  • healthy decision making
  • healthy relationships
  • sexual health
  • STI prevention
  • HIV
  • unplanned pregnancy
  • youth struggling with their sexual identity or gender

Health Resource Centers

Center Contact
Another Course to College
612 Metropolitan Ave.
Hyde Park, MA 02136

Marc Cosby
mcosby@bphc.org

Jazmine Shorter
jshorter@bphc.org 

Boston Arts Academy
11 Charles St.
Dorchester, MA 02122

Royal Nunes
RNunes@bphc.org

Christina Bossa
cbossa@bphc.org 

​Community Academy of Science and Health
11 Charles St.
Dorchester, MA 02122

​Makensy Nicolas
MNicolas@bphc.org

Heather Kough
hkough@bphc.org​ 

English High School
144 McBride St.
Jamaica Plain, MA 02130 

Marc Cosby
mcosby@bphc.org

Jazmine Shorter
jshorter@bphc.org 

Excel High School
95 G St.
South Boston, MA 02127

​Makensy Nicolas
MNicolas@bphc.org

Heather Kough
hkough@bphc.org​ 

Fenway High School
67 Alleghany St.
Boston, MA 02120

Royal Nunes
RNunes@bphc.org

Christina Bossa
cbossa@bphc.org 

Back to top