Back to top

Boston Public Library's Concerts in the Courtyard return to Central Library in Copley Square

May 26, 2016

Boston Public Library

Published by:

Library

Boston Public Library’s free Concerts in the Courtyard (www.bpl.org/concerts) series returns June 1 and runs through August 31, featuring a variety of artists and musical genres in the library’s iconic courtyard at the Central Library in Copley Square, located at 700 Boylston Street. Concerts are held on Wednesdays at 6 p.m. and on Fridays at 12:30 p.m. All the concerts are free and last approximately one hour. Wednesday concerts are presented in partnership with Berklee College of Music.

June schedule:

  • Rodolfo Arteaga, Wednesday, June 1 ? 6 p.m. Rodolfo Arteaga is a singer-songwriter and cellist from Ciudad Ojeda, Venezuela.
  • Cocek! Brass Band, Friday, June 3 ? 12:30 p.m. Cocek! Brass Band’s original music is based on the sounds of Eastern European brass bands and blends dance music with improvisation and inspiring melodies.
  • Samuel Batista, Wednesday, June 8 ? 6 p.m. Samuel Batista is an alto saxophone player from Panama City, Panama.
  • Moody Street Sound, Friday, June 10 ? 12:30 p.m. Hailing from Lowell, Massachusetts, Moody Street Sound is a sextet specializing in jazz, soul, and the blues.
  • Harshitha Krishnan, Wednesday, June 15 ? 6 p.m. Harshitha Krishnan is a vocalist of Indian origin from Lagos, Nigeria.
  • Duo Esplanade, Friday, June 17 ? 12:30 p.m. Duo Esplanade explores the flexible sounds of flute and clarinet, both as solo instruments and as part of different instrumental combinations in the various styles of standard classical repertoire, new music, and original arrangements.
  • Eduardo Mercuri, Wednesday, June 22 ? 6 p.m. Born in Curitiba, Brazil, guitar player Eduardo Mercuri has performed at the Panama Jazz Festival, Beantown Jazz Festival, and the 2013 Latin Grammys. 
  • Properly Unprepared, Friday, June 24 ? 12:30 p.m. Properly Unprepared is a jazz combo made up of five members with an average age of 18.
  • Kristin Corpuz, Wednesday, June 29 ? 6 p.m. Kristin Corpuz is a singer-songwriter, actress, and dancer from Tampa, Florida, who currently attends Berklee College of Music as a 2013 Presidential Scholar.

Concerts in the Courtyard are generously supported by the Library Programs Fund at the Boston Public Library Foundation. Concerts will be moved indoors in the event of inclement weather. The concerts continue in July and August with the following schedule:

  • Phil Berman, Friday, July 1 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • luhx., Wednesday July 6 ? 6 p.m.
  • Castle of our Skins, Friday, July 8 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • MIXCLA, Wednesday, July 13 ? 6 p.m.
  • Amaryllis Chamber Ensemble, Friday, July 15 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • Dear June, Wednesday, July 20 ? 6 p.m.
  • Isabel Stover and Molly Flannery, Friday, July 22 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • Shirhan Agabeyli, Wednesday, July 27 ? 6 p.m.
  • Boston Youth Symphony Orchestras’ Intensive Community Program, Friday, July 29 ? 12:30 p.m.   
  • Kyle Thornton & The Company, Wednesday, August 3 ? 6 p.m.
  • Kenn Morr Band, Friday, August 5 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • Njoki Karu, Wednesday, August 10 ? 6 p.m.
  • Hiroya Tsukamoto, Friday, August 12 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • James Fernando, Wednesday, August 17 ? 6 p.m.
  • Yi David Yang, Friday, August 19 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • Honeysuckle, Wednesday, August 24 ? 6 p.m.
  • Boston Lyric Opera, Friday, August 26 ? 12:30 p.m.
  • Aliya Cycon Project, Wednesday, August 31 ? 6 p.m.

About BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY 
Boston Public Library has a Central Library, twenty-four branches, map center, business library, and a website filled with digital content and services. Established in 1848, the Boston Public Library has pioneered public library service in America. It was the first large free municipal library in the United States, the first public library to lend books, the first to have a branch library, and the first to have a children’s room. Each year, the Boston Public Library hosts thousands of programs and serves millions of people. All of its programs and exhibitions are free and open to the public. At the Boston Public Library, books are just the beginning. To learn more, visit bpl.org.

About BOSTON PUBLIC LIBRARY FOUNDATION

The Boston Public Library Foundation is a fundraising arm of the BPL, with a mission to raise private funds for library programs and special projects.  Working closely with the leadership team of the Library, as well as the Board of Trustees, the Foundation has made over 15 grants to the BPL in Fiscal Year 2016, ranging in size from $10,000 to $175,000, to support programs such as the Lowell Lecture Series, Concerts in the Courtyard, Read Your Way to Fenway, Community Learning Center programs, and the upcoming “Celebrating Shakespeare” initiative, among others.