Back to top
Last updated: 4/1/19

2019 leaf and yard waste schedule

We pick up leaf and yard waste from May to December on scheduled days.

Please note: leaf and yard waste will not be collected curbside on non-collection weeks.

Still have questions? Contact:
Public Works
1 City Hall Square
Room 714
Boston, MA 02201-2024
United States
Download the schedule:

2019 leaf and yard waste weeks

May

Monday, May 6 - Friday, May 10

Monday, May 20 - Friday, May 24

June

Monday, June 3 - Friday, June 7

Monday, June 17  - Friday, June 21

July

Monday, July 8  - Friday, July 12

Monday, July 22 - Friday, July 26

August

Monday, August 5 - Friday, August 9

Monday, August 19 - Friday, August 23

September

Monday, September 9 - Friday, September 13

Monday, September 23 - Friday, September 27

October

Monday, October 7 - Friday, October 11

Monday, October 14 - Saturday, October 19

Monday, October 21 - Friday, October 25

Monday, October 28 - Friday, November 1

November

Monday, November 4 - Friday, November 8

Monday, November 11 - Saturday, November 16

Monday, November 18 - Friday, November 22

Monday, November 25 - Saturday, November 30

December

Monday, December 2 - Friday, December 6

Leaf and yard waste tips

  • Place leaves and yard debris in large paper bags or open barrels labeled YARD WASTE. Do not use plastic bags.  
  • Tie branches with string. The maximum size for branches is three feet with a one-inch diameter. Do not put branches in barrels. 
  • Place barrels, bags, and branches curbside by 7 a.m.
  • If you have two recycling days each week, yard waste collection is on the first recycling day of the week.
  • Christmas trees are picked up during the first two full weeks of January on your first recycling day and shredded for compost. The trees should be placed on the curb by 7 a.m. without ornaments or lights.

Christmas tree pickups

We pick up Christmas trees during the first two full weeks of January to be shredded for compost. If you have two recycling days, we pick up trees on your first recycling day.

Please place your trees on the curb by 7 a.m., without ornaments or lights.

Download tree recycling graphic