Back to top
Last updated: 11/16/18

2018 leaf and yard waste schedule

We pick up leaf and yard waste from April to December on scheduled days.

Please note: leaf and yard waste will not be collected curbside on non-collection weeks.

Still have questions? Contact:
Public Works
1 City Hall Square
Room 714
Boston, MA 02201-2024
United States
Download the schedule:

Christmas tree pickups

We pick up Christmas trees during the first two full weeks of January to be shredded for compost. If you have two recycling days, we pick up trees on your first recycling day.

Please place your trees on the curb by 7 a.m., without ornaments or lights.

Download tree recycling graphic

2018 leaf and yard waste weeks

April

Monday, April 23 - Friday, April 27

May

Monday, May 7 - Friday, May 11

Monday, May 21 - Friday, May 25

June

Monday, June 4 - Friday, June 8

Monday, June 18  - Friday, June 22

July

Monday, July 9  - Friday, July 13

Monday, July 23 - Friday, July 27

August

Monday, August 6 - Friday, August 10

Monday, August 20 - Friday, August 24

September

Monday, September 10 - Friday, September 14

Monday, September 24 - Friday, September 28

October

Monday, October 15 - Friday, October 19

Monday, October 29 - Friday, November 2

November

Monday, October 29 - Friday, November 2

Monday, November 5 - Friday, November 9

Monday, November 12 - Saturday, November 17

Monday, November 19 - Saturday, November 24

Monday, November 26 - Friday, November 30

December

Monday, December 3 - Friday, December 7

Leaf and yard waste tips

  • Place leaves and yard debris in large paper bags or open barrels labeled YARD WASTE. Do not use plastic bags.  
  • Tie branches with string. The maximum size for branches is three feet with a one-inch diameter. Do not put branches in barrels. 
  • Place barrels, bags, and branches curbside by 7 a.m.
  • If you have two recycling days each week, yard waste collection is on the first recycling day of the week.
  • Christmas trees are picked up during the first two full weeks of January on your first recycling day and shredded for compost. The trees should be placed on the curb by 7 a.m. without ornaments or lights.