Last updated:

Leaf and Yard Waste Composting

We pick up leaf and yard waste from April to December on scheduled days and host drop off events throughout the year. Leaf and yard waste is turned into compost, and used throughout the City as soil for community gardens, parks, and schools. 

Please note: Leaf and yard waste will not be collected curbside on non-collection weeks.

Leaf and yard waste drop-off events are for Boston residents only. You must provide a photo ID, utility bill, or lease as proof of residency. We will not accept any waste from businesses. We also reserve the right to reject any materials that do not meet our regulations.

2023 Leaf and Yard Waste Dates

2023 Dates

Saturday, April 1 (Yard waste drop-off event)

Saturday, April 8 (Yard waste drop-off event)

Monday, April 10 - Friday, April 14 (curbside pickup)

Saturday, April 15 (Yard waste drop-off event)

Monday, April 24 - Friday, April 28 (curbside pickup)

Monday, May 8 - Friday, May 12 (curbside pickup)

Monday, May 22 - Friday, May 26 (curbside pickup)

Monday, June 5 - Friday, June 10 (curbside pickup)

Monday, June 26 - Friday, June 30 (curbside pickup)

Monday, July 10  - Friday, July 14 (curbside pickup)

Monday, July 24 - Friday, July 28 (curbside pickup)

Monday, August 7 - Friday, August 11 (curbside pickup)

Monday, August 21 - Friday, August 25 (curbside pickup)

Monday, September 11 - Friday, September 15 (curbside pickup)

Monday, September 25 - Friday, September 29 (curbside pickup)

Monday, October 2 - Friday, October 6 (curbside pickup)

Monday, October 23 - Friday, October 27 (curbside pickup)

Monday, October 6 - Friday, November 10 (curbside pickup)

Monday, November 7 - Saturday, November 12 (curbside pickup)

Monday, November 13 - Friday, November 17 (curbside pickup)

Saturday, November 18 (Yard waste drop-off)

Monday, November 20 - Saturday, November 24 (curbside pickup)

Monday, November 27 - Friday, December 1 (curbside pickup)

Saturday, December 2 (yard waste drop-off)

Monday, December 4 - Friday, December 8 (curbside pickup)

Saturday December 9 (yard waste drop-off) 

Monday, January 1 - Friday, January 5

Monday, January 8 - Friday, January 12

Leaf and yard waste tips

  • Place leaves and yard debris in large paper bags or open barrels labeled YARD WASTE.
  • Please never use plastic bags for leaf & yard waste.
  • Branches must not be larger than three feet long and one inch thick, and tied with a string.
  • Please place your barrels, bags, and branches curbside by 6 a.m.
  • If you have two recycling days each week, yard waste collection is on the first recycling day of the week.
  • Christmas trees are picked up during the first two weeks of January on your first recycling day and composted
    • All trees should be placed curbside by 6 a.m.
      • All ornaments and lights must be removed before the tree is placed curbside.

Christmas Tree Collection

We pick up Christmas trees in January to be shredded for compost. If you have two recycling days, we pick up trees on your first recycling day. Check the Trash and Recycling Day app to find your tree collection dates. 

Please place your trees on the curb by 6 a.m., without ornaments or lights.

Back to top